HPAC Magazine

Canadians Among 2021 ASHRAE Award Winners

By Logan Caswell   

Cooling Forced Air Heating HPAC General Human Resources HVAC Systems Hydronics Management Plumbing ASHRAE Canada HVAC Ontario

Members recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the organization and HVAC/R industry.


During the recent ASHRAE Virtual Conference, held June 28 – July 30, the Association announced the members being recognized this year for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the organization and the heating, ventilation, air-conditioning and refrigeration (HVAC/R) industry, including the following Canadians.

The William J. Collins Jr. Award was presented to Nathan D. Cook, named in honor of Presidential Member Collins, and recognizes a chapter RP chair who excels in raising funds for ASHRAE’s RP campaign. Cook is an Associate at Dillon Consulting Limited based in Windsor.

ASHRAE’s Technical Paper Award is going to Michael Roth, which recognizes the authors of the best papers presented at Society conferences. Awarded for “The Use of Reanalysis in ASHRAE Applications (RP-1745).” Roth is a Director at Klimatt Consulting and Innovation located in Guelph.

The Willis H. Carrier Award is going to Justin David Berquist, given to a member 32 years of age or younger for presenting an out­standing paper at a Society conference. The award is presented for “Feasibility of Low-Cost C02 Sensors for Demand-Controlled Ventilation-Part 1. Laboratory Testing.” Berquist is an Assistant Research Officer, National Research Council Canada positioned in Ottawa.

For more information on additional awards winners, visit ashrae.org.



Stories continue below