HPAC Magazine

Winners of EnerQuality Housing Innovation Awards Announced

March 6, 2018 | By HPAC Magazine

Leading companies in sustainable housing are recognized

for contributions and advancements in

Ontario’s Green Building category.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductee Larry Brydon (c) with Cory McBurney (l) president of EnerQuality and Marco Pisterzi from Cricket.

Ontario’s best Green Builders were celebrated February 22, 2018 at the EnerQuality Awards Gala (EQ Awards). Held at the Universal Eventspace in Vaughan, ON, the event was hosted by Breakfast Television’s Kevin Frankish. More than 200 industry peers gathered to share concepts and accolades as together they help to move towards a more energy conscious future.
“Advancing energy-efficient techniques and tools are huge priorities in the building sector to continue to improve healthy living conditions, fight climate change and minimize unnecessary spending,” said Corey McBurney, president of EnerQuality.
“The EnerQuality Housing Innovation Forum & Awards help to connect builders with the innovation they need to meet their design goals as well as spotlight the change-makers who are effecting policies and driving standards towards a shared goal of Net Zero housing,” added McBurney.
Among the biggest attractions of the Innovation Forum, which took place the same day, was the keynote from MaRS senior adviser and CBC guest, Tom Rand. Rand shared tangible solutions to combat climate change.

The highly competitive Innovation Gauntlet rounded out the day before the official Award ceremony began, with IBC Technologies Inc. being named the winner for its IBC Better Boilers. “The IBC Better Boiler product is a forward thinking, adaptable technology with integration to smart homes. This is a truly unique product and was a clear leader in this year’s submissions,” said Shaun Joffe, executive director of sustainability & building sciences at Great Gulf and judge of the Innovation Gauntlet participants.
The EQ Awards featured special designations to highlight the contributions of industry leaders including:
2017 Hall of Fame Inductee – Larry Brydon, vp business development with Cricket Energy
Brydon has been in the HVAC distribution and energy services market for more than 25 years. A past chair of Sustainable Buildings Canada and the Toronto Chapter of the Canada Green Building Council, he currently serves on the board of directors for the Canadian Efficiency Alliance, the International Initiative for a Sustainable Built Environment (iiSBE), Sustainable Buildings Canada (SBC), and EnerQuality.
Among his many achievements, Brydon led the Enbridge and Union Gas’s Savings by Design program. This initiative has participated in over 200 low-rise, and 50 high-rise developer design charrettes where they shared energy-efficient design alternatives resulting in 15 to 25 per cent energy improvement over the Ontario Building Code.

Doug Tarry (l), 2017 Leader of the Year Award winner, with John Amardeil of BAM Builder Advertising & Marketing.

2017 Leader of the Year–Doug Tarry, Doug Tarry Custom Homes Ltd.
2017 was a banner year for Doug Tarry, of Doug Tarry Custom Homes. Fresh off winning the inaugural Net Zero Builder Award from the Canadian Home Builders’ Association, his Project Hope, a fundraising event that was the first time a Net Zero home was built in just three days, raised funds for the family of the late Johnny Nooren, a building inspector from St. Thomas, ON. The project won the 2017 Prestige Award from the Ontario Home Builders’ Association for project of the year–low rise, and the trailer for the accompanying documentary was seen by more than 10,000 in movie theatres in Ontario.
Tarry led his team of builders to receive the 2016 EQ Builder Achievement Award and now holds the 2017 title of Leader of the Year for propelling the company’s holistic Net Zero housing concepts with simple controls designed to allow homeowners to save money while living in a healthy environment.
Impact Award–Arista Homes Ltd.
Arista Homes Ltd. was awarded the honour of the 2017 Impact Award–an award introduced in 2016 to recognize a builder’s significant voluntary progress in reducing carbon emission and outstanding achievements through energy efficient and sustainability practices.
“Green initiatives and ENERGY STAR participation have become staples of our building practices and we remain committed to continuing to improve our building practices and to lead by example,” said Franco Crispino, Arista vp of sales and marketing. Arista Homes has enrolled more than 1,200 ENERGY STAR homes since the construction of its first multi-phase ENERGY STAR community in 2009.
In addition to delivering residential green building programs, EnerQuality is a certifier of energy efficient homes. Founded in 1998 by the Ontario Home Builders’ Association (OHBA) and the Canadian Energy Efficiency Alliance (CEEA), EnerQuality’s mission is to accelerate housing innovation to improve building performance. www.enerquality.ca

Partner Award:
Enbridge Gas Distribution
Union Gas
Owens Corning

Enbridge Savings By Design Award
Remington Homes

Building Innovation Low-Rise
Great Gulf Homes Ltd

Building Innovation Mid/High-Rise
Times Group Corporation

ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder of the Year (Small volume)
sean.ca (Sean Mason Homes)

ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder of the Year (Midvolume)
Remington Homes

ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder of the Year (Large volume)
The Minto Group

ENERGY STAR Champion of the Year
Jacqueline Collier, Tamarack Homes

Best Green Marketing Campaign
Doug Tarry Custom Homes Ltd

IBC Technologies Inc. is the winner of the EnerQuality Innovation Gauntlet its newest innovation – IBC Better Boilers. (l to r) Cory McBurney, president of EnerQuality; from IBC, Birgit McCullough, office manager, Peter Kinsey, sales marketing manager for Eastern Canada, Don Peladeau, CEO and James Scott, technical sales manager.

EnerQuality Innovation Gauntlet
IBC Technologies Inc.

R-2000 Home Builder of the Year
RND Construction

Net Zero Home Builder of the Year
Reid’s Heritage Homes

Evaluator of the Year
Angela Bustamante, Building Knowledge

Builder Achievement Award
Shaun Joffe, Great Gulf Homes Ltd.

Ontario Green Builder of the Year
Sifton Properties Ltd.



Stories continue below