HPAC Magazine

Canadian students among ASHRAE’s 2023-24 scholarship recipients

By HPAC Magazine   

HPAC General Human Resources mechanical engineering scholarships students

The top award, the President's Scholarship ($12,500), went to Danielle Tessier of Carleton University.

ashraeThis year ASHRAE has awarded 40 Society scholarships, totaling US$219,500, for the 2023-24 academic year, and the top award, the President’s Scholarship (US$12,500) went to Danielle Tessier of Carleton University in Ottawa.

An undergraduate student in the Sustainable and Renewable Energy Engineering (SREE) program, Tessier has worked and volunteered for Solr Solvr, a solar broker, and Equitable Solar Solutions, a non-profit. She is currently completing a co-op as an electrical power engineering intern at Stantec in its buildings division. She has an interest in expanding her knowledge of energy-efficient building retrofits and heat pump system design.

Other Canadian university scholarship award recipients include:

  • Dylan Ricard, mechanical engineering, University of Manitoba and Heather Ritter, mechanical engineering and business, University of Calgary, are recipients of a Reuben Trane Scholarship ($10,000) which is awarded over two years and was established by the Trane Co.
  • Alyssa Bentsen, mechanical engineering, University of Victoria, is the recipient of the Alwin B. Newton Scholarship ($5,000) named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.
  • Gabrielle Milburn, architectural conservation & sustainability engineering, Carleton University, is the recipient of the Ottawa Valley Chapter Scholarship ($3,000).

Applications are now being accepted for the 2024-25 undergraduate engineering, technology, regional/chapter, and university-specific scholarships. The application deadline is December 1, 2023.

The full list of 2023-24 scholarship recipients can be seen at:




Stories continue below