HPAC Magazine

ASHRAE Awards presented at Winter Conference

February 1, 2024 | By HPAC Magazine

Honours received by Canadians included technology awards, a young leader award and one member was elevated to Fellow.

During the ASHRAE 2024 Winter Conference in Chicago (January 20-24) the society acknowledged the exceptional achievements and contributions of its members to both the association and the built environment. There were a number of Canadians recognized among this year’s award recipients.

The association elevated 23 members to the grade of Fellow, a membership grade that recognizes members who have attained distinction and made substantial contributions in HVAC/R and the built environment. Only one Canadian-based engineer made Fellow this year:

  • Carolyn (Gemma) Kerr, Ph.D., Life Member ASHRAE, she is a retired co-owner, partner, and senior chemist with InAIR Environmental Ltd.,  in Ottawa.

The ASHRAE Technology Awards

The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by members who have applied innovative building designs. Winning projects are selected from entries earning regional awards, and among this year’s winners were.

  • Martin Roy, Lianne Cockerton and Alexandre Cadieux of Martin Roy and Associates won in the existing commercial buildings category for The Phenix – Sustainable Design Lab, a Zero Carbon Building Standard and LEED-Platinum certified building owned by Lemay Architecture and Design in Montreal.
  • Gheorghe Mihalache, Ph.D., P.Eng., of Atis Energie won in the new industrial facilities or processes category for the Fromagerie Bel Canada in Sorel-Tracy, Quebec. The building is owned by Groupe bel Canada, makers of the Laughing Cow, Boursin and Mini Babybel cheese.

YEA Inspirational Leader Award
Ghina Annan received the Young Engineer in ASHRAE (YEA) Inspirational Leader Award. The award recognizes a young engineer who has gone above and beyond to make considerable contributions to the industry and community. Annan is decarbonization business lead with Stantec in Ottawa.

A full list of the 2024 ASHRAE Award Winners can be found on the ASHRAE website.




Stories continue below